Page 7 - SPBC-july-2019
P. 7

-7-
        enough for game.
               He could jump directly to 4♥. This is not quite a “closeout” bid. It must
        show a good hand (otherwise North would jump only to 3♥, invitational). The
        alternative to jumping to 4♥ is much more complicated. North would have to
        make some forcing bid. He can’t make any bid that South might pass (below
        game). That rules out 2♥, 2♠, 3♥ and 3♠ (all non-forcing). This means North
        would have to invent some artificial bid (such as 3♣ - 4th - suit forcing). This is
        getting too complex - let’s settle for the jump to 4♥ - which isn’t a bad description.
             1♥  1♠
             2♦  4♥
        THE OPENING LEAD:
               Leading dummy’s spade suit (or worse, from the ♦AQ into declarer’s diamond
        suit) doesn’t make much sense. Leading a singleton trump usually is unappealing,
        but there is a decent reason to do so here: West has good diamonds (declarer’s
        second suit) - and it seems declarer might be trumping diamonds in dummy. Also,
        West has spades slightly stopped/controlled - he isn’t worried declarer is going to
        run dummy’s spades (making it less urgent to attack with a club - the unbid suit).
        Still, I think most Wests would lead the unbid suit, so we’ll go with a club lead.
        Which one? It is a matter of partnership agreement. MUD (Middle-up-down) is
        popular among intermediate-level players. Most experts prefer to lead low. So,
        let’s make the “expert” lead of the ♣2.
        THE PLAY:
               Declarer is somewhat happy with this lead, since his ♣K will be a trick.
        East wins the ace, and will try to cash another club trick for the defense (he
        doesn’t know who has the ♣K). He might as well try the ♣Q (it can’t cost) to
        smother dummy’s ♣J. Declarer wins the ♣K and has to make a plan.
               He has six losing cards remaining in his hand (a small club and all five
        diamonds). What can he do with them? Two can be thrown on dummy’s ♠AK.
        The others can maybe be trumped in dummy.  Accordingly, declarer should not
        draw trump. He should play on cross-ruff lines.
               At trick three, let’s say he ruffs his last club in the dummy. Should he next
        lead the ♥J for a finesse? No way. Don’t dare touch those precious trumps in the
        dummy. When planning a crossruff the idea is to cash winners first (before the
        defense can discard their cards in that suit). So, next come the ♠AK as South
        throws two of his low diamonds.
               South is now left with three losing diamonds in his hand and ♥J108 in
        dummy. Now it gets a little tricky. South has to keep getting back to his hand to
        ruff those diamond losers in dummy. Every time he plays a spade from dummy,
        there are two dangers: 1) West might be out of spades and threaten to overruff
        declarer or 2) East might be out of spades and throw away diamonds as declarer
        ruffs spades to his hand. On the actual deal, it is #2 that will cause us a problem.
               Anyway, we have no choice but to try that third round of spades. Good
        news and bad news. East is the one who shows out, but he throws a diamond.
        We can ruff the spade low and ruff a diamond in dummy (it’s okay to risk the  8
        on this trick - East is unlikely to have started with only a doubleton diamond).
        Now comes another spade ruffed in hand (East throwing his last diamond), but
        To Table of Contents
   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12